STOCKED Newsletter
STOCKED Newsletter
Bean There, Cooked That
0:00
-1:59

Bean There, Cooked That

Money-Saving Tips & Tricks

Welcome to the Pantry with Purpose Podcast. I’m Kate and I teach women (and sometimes men) how to save money on their grocery bill and invest the savings.

This week, today, in fact, I am going to start cooking beans and then I’m gonna use those beans for days to come. Why, you ask, are we making such a fuss about beans? Well, grocery prices are INSANE these days and we all could use a budget hack right now.

For those of you who want to cook along, here’s a day-by-day list of what we will be making:

  1. Bowl of beans w/ grilled garlic bread

  2. Beans on toast with jammy eggs

  3. Puréed beans on bruschetta with EVOO, salt, red chile flakes

  4. Penne with beans, sausage, and brown butter breadcrumbs

  5. Poor Man’s Cassoulet (with chicken leg)

And here’s your grocery list that should cost you no more than $20-25:

-Dried beans (I’ll be using Cassoulet Beans from Rancho Gordo. I love you Steve Sando, with all my cooking heart.

-Alliums (onions, garlic)

-Thyme, or rosemary, or oregano

-Bread (something big and crusty…like a boule)

-Two Lemons

-Bunch flat leaf parsley

-Bunch of Lacinato kale

-Hot or Italian sausage (1/3 pound)

-One chicken leg per person (I forgot to say this!)

From the pantry:

-Butter

-Penne

-Sausage

-Eggs

-Salt

-Pepper

-Chile flakes

-EVOO

If you haven’t already, please go to @sheisstocked and follow along. I’ll be posting both methods and images. Happy cooking!

Give a gift subscription

0 Comments
STOCKED Newsletter
STOCKED Newsletter
Eventually this will be a full-blown podcast with interviews featuring guest along the food and finance spectrum. For now, I'll be reading you relevant food and financial news.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
STOCKED